Virginia Tech® home

Faculty and Staff Directory


Faculty 


Joel W Snodgrass, Professor and Department Head, Fish and Wildlife Conservation.

Dr. Joel W Snodgrass
Joel Snodgrass
Professor and 
Department Head
Email: joels@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham Hall

Professor, Kathleen Alexander

Headshot of Dr. Kathleen Alexander
Kathleen Alexander
Professor
Email: kathyalx@vt.edu 
Phone: 540-231-5059
Office: 2103 ILSB

Paul Angermeier, Professor, Fish and Wildlife Conservation

Headshot of Dr. Paul Angermeier
Paul Angermeier 
Professor and
Assistant Unit Leader for
VA Cooperative Fish &
Wildlife Research Unit

Email: biota@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4501
Office: 342 Latham Hall

Leandro Castello, Asst Professor, Fish and Wildlife Conservation.

Headshot of Dr. Leandro Castello
Leandro Castello
Associate Professor
Email: leandro@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5046
Office: 442 Latham Hall
Catlin_Dan
Dan Catlin
Research
Associate Professor
Email: dcatlin@vt.edu 
Phone: 540-231-1692
Office: 134 Cheatham Hall
Assistant Professor Willandia Chaves
Willandia Chaves
Assistant Professor
Email: wchaves@vt.edu
Dayer_Ashley
Ashley Dayer
Associate Professor
Email: dayer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-8847
Office: 108 Cheatham Hall
Dolloff_Andy
Andrew Dolloff
Professor &
Project Leader for
USFS Southern Research Station Coldwater Fisheries Research Unit
Email: adoll@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4864
Office: 350 Latham Hall
Photo of Dr. Luis Escobar
Luis E. Escobar
Assistant Professor
Email: escobar1@vt.edu 
Phone: 540-232-8454 
Office: 444 Latham Hall
Lab: 340 Latham Hall
photo of Francesco Ferretti
Francesco Ferretti
Assistant Professor
Email: ferretti@vt.edu
Office:  106E Cheatham Hall
ford_Mark
Mark Ford
Associate Professor and Unit Lead for 
VA Cooperative Fish &
Wildlife Research Unit

Email: wmford@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5927
Office: 106B Cheatham Hall
Fraser
James (Jim) Fraser
Professor
Email: fraser@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6064
Office: 106C Cheatham Hall
Frimpong_Emmanuel
Emmanuel Frimpong
Professor 
Email: frimp@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6880
Office: 156 Cheatham Hall
Haas_Carola
Carola Haas
Professor
Email: cahaas@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-9269
Office: 112 Cheatham Hall
Hallerman_Eric
Eric Hallerman
Professor
Email: ehallerm@vt.edu 
Phone: 540-231-3257
Office: 114 Cheatham Hall
Photo of Michael Kevin Hamed
Michael Kevin Hamed
Collegiate Associate Professor 
Email: khamed@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1887
Office: 154 Cheatham Hall
hopkins
William Hopkins
Professor and Director of 
Global Change Center
Email: hopkinsw@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7292
Assistant Professor Elizabeth Hunter
Elizabeth Hunter
Assistant Professor & Assistant Unit Leader for VA Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
Email: ehunter1@vt.edu

Image of Assistant Professor Brett Jesmer
Brett Jesmer
Assistant Professor
Email: brettjesmer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0492
Office: 148 Cheatham Hall
JIao_Yan
Yan Jiao
Professor
Email: yjiao@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5749
Office: 110 Cheatham Hall
Jones_Jess
Jess Jones
Associate Professor and
Restoration Biologist for
USFWS and Co-Director of 
FMCC 
Email: jess_jones@fws.gov
Phone: 540-231-2266/8865
Office: 106A Cheatham Hall
Karpanty_Sarah
Sarah Karpanty
Professor
Email: karpanty@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4586
Office: 150 Cheatham Hall
Kelly_Marcella
Marcella Kelly
Professor &  Associate Department Head for Graduate Affairs
Email: makelly2@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1734
Office: 146 Cheatham Hall
photo of Holly Kindsvater
Holly Kindsvater
Assistant Professor Email: hkindsvater
Phone: 540-231-1169
Office: 114 Cheatham Hall
Donald Linzey, Instructional Faculty
Donald Linzey 
Instructional Faculty 
Email: dlinzey@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-2290
Office: 154 Cheatham Hall
Research Associate, Ronald Meyers
Ronald Meyers
Associate Professor of Practice
Email: rbmeyers@vt.edu
Phone: 540-570-9535
Office: 106 Cheatham Hall
Nyboer
Elizabeth Nyboer
Email: enyboer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5919
Office: 106A Cheatham Hall
Headshot of Associate Professor Jim Parkhurst
Jim Parkhurst
Associate Professor
Email: jparkhur@vt.edu 
Phone: 540-231-9283
Office: 350 Latham Hall
Haldre Rogers
Haldre Rogers
Associate Professor
Email: haldre@vt.edu
Office: 152 Cheatham Hall

Research Scientists


Postdoctoral Associate, George Brooks
George Brooks
Postdoctoral Associate
Email: boa10gb@vt.edu 
Image of Joseph Buckwalter, FWC Research Associate
Joseph Buckwalter
Research Associate
Email: joebuck@vt.edu
Lab: 339 Latham Hall
Postdoc, Nick Caruso
Nicholas Caruso
Research Scientist
Email: nmcaruso@vt.edu
Research Scientist, Serena Ciparis
Serena Ciparis
Research Scientist
Email: sciparis@vt.edu
Office: 154 Cheatham Hall
Postdoc, Corrine Diggins
Corrine Diggins
Research Scientist
Email: cordie1@vt.edu

 

Research Scientist, Bill Henley
Bill Henley 
Research Scientist 
Email: whenley@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-7241
Office: Mollusk Center
Research Associate, Kelsi Hunt
Kelsi Hunt
Research Associate
Email: hunt0382@vt.edu
Office: 134 Cheatham Hall
Research Scientist, Kelly jones
Kelly Jones
Research Associate
Email: kcjones7@vt.edu
Office: Off Campus, Florida
Research Associate, Shannon Ritter
Shannon Ritter
Research Associate
Email:  sjritter@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4433
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
image of Sarah Sweeten
Sarah Sweeten
Research Scientist
Email: sweeten@vt.edu
Office: Aquaculture Center
Emily Thorne
Emily Thorne
Postdoctoral Associate
Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Email: edthorne@vt.edu
Office: 106 Cheatham Hall
photo of Chelsea Weithman
Chelsea Weithman
Research Associate
Email: cweithm@vt.edu
Office: 134 Cheatham Hall

Staff


photo of Field Tech Cody Ewers
Cody Ewers
Natural Resource Spec II  Email: ewers@vt.edu
Office: Off Campus, FL
Picture of Donald Fraser, Watercraft Operations Manager
Donald Fraser 
Watercraft Operations Manager
Email: drfraser@vt.edu
Office: Boatshed 
Photo of FWC Admin Assistant Lynn Hayes
Lynn Hayes 
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Email: lyhayes@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-1975
Office: 101D Cheatham Hall
Photo of  Accounts Manager Beth Jones
Beth Jones
Business Manager
Email: ejones06@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-3983
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
picture of a man
Stephen LaCasse
Administrative Assistant
Virginia Cooperative Fish &
Wildlife Research Unit
Email: slacasse@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4934 
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
picture of a women
Kelsey Lester
Administrative Assistant
Email: kdlester@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6944 
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
Jennifer Phillips
Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Email: jewolfor@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham Hall
Photo of Brandon Rincon, FWC Wildlife Worker
Brandon Rincon
Wildlife Worker
Email: brandon6@vt.edu
Office: Off Campus, FL
Jeff with a Tennessee cap on
Jeffrey Wingate 
Trades Tech III & Manager of Center WoodsEmail: wjeff@vt.edu
Office: Center Woods