Virginia Tech®home

Faculty and Staff Directory


Faculty 


Joel W Snodgrass, Professor and Department Head, Fish and Wildlife Conservation.

Dr. Joel W Snodgrass
Joel Snodgrass
Professor & 
Department Head
Email: joels@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5573
Office: 100 Cheatham

Professor, Kathleen Alexander

Headshot of Dr. Kathleen Alexander
Kathleen Alexander
Professor
Email: kathyalx@vt.edu 
Phone: (540) 231-5059
Office: 2103 ILSB

Paul Angermeier, Professor, Fish and Wildlife Conservation

Headshot of Dr. Paul Angermeier
Paul Angermeier 
Professor &
Assistant Unit Leader for
VA Cooperative Fish &
Wildlife Research Unit

Email: biota@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4501
Office: 342 Latham

Leandro Castello, Asst Professor, Fish and Wildlife Conservation.

Headshot of Dr. Leandro Castello
Leandro Castello
Associate Professor
Email: leandro@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5046
Office:442 Latham
Catlin_Dan
Dan Catlin
Research
Associate Professor
Email: dcatlin@vt.edu 
Phone: (540) 231-1692
Office: 134 Cheatham
Assistant Professor Willandia Chaves
Willandia Chaves
Assistant Professor
Email: wchaves@vt.edu
Dayer_Ashley
Ashley Dayer
Assistant Professor
Email: dayer@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-8847
Office: 108 Cheatham
Dolloff_Andy
Andrew Dolloff
Professor &
Project Leader for
USFS Southern Research Station Coldwater Fisheries Research Unit
Email: adoll@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4864
Office: 350 Latham
Photo of Dr. Luis Escobar
Luis E. Escobar
Assistant Professor
Email: escobar1@vt.edu 
Phone: (540) 232-8454 
Office: 444 Latham Hall
Lab: 340 Latham Hall
photo of Francesco Ferretti
Francesco Ferretti
Assistant Professor
Email: ferretti@vt.edu
Office:  106E Cheatham 

 

ford_Mark
Mark Ford
Associate Professor & Unit Lead for 
VA Cooperative Fish &
Wildlife Research Unit

Email: wmford@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5927
Office: 106B Cheatham
Fraser
James (Jim) Fraser
Professor
Email: fraser@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6064
Office: 106C Cheatham
Frimpong_Emmanuel
Emmanuel Frimpong
Professor 
Email: frimp@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6880
Office: 156 Cheatham
Haas_Carola
Carola Haas
Professor
Email: cahaas@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-9269
Office: 112 Cheatham
Hallerman_Eric
Eric Hallerman
Professor
Email: ehallerm@vt.edu 
Phone: (540) 231-3257
Office: 114 Cheatham
Photo of Michael Kevin Hamed
Michael Kevin Hamed
Collegiate Assistant Professor 
Email: khamed@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-1887
Office:  154 Cheatham
hopkins
William Hopkins
Professor & Director of 
Global Change Center
Email: hopkinsw@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7292
Assistant Professor Elizabeth Hunter
Elizabeth Hunter
Assistant Professor & Assistant Unit Leader for VA Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
Email: ehunter1@vt.edu

Image of Assistant Professor Brett Jesmer
Brett Jesmer
Assistant Professor
Email: brettjesmer@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-0492
Office: 148 Cheatham Hall
JIao_Yan
Yan Jiao
Professor
Email: yjiao@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5749
Office: 110 Cheatham
Jones_Jess
Jess Jones
Associate Professor &
Restoration Biologist for
USFWS & Co-Director of 
FMCC 
Email: jess_jones@fws.gov
Phone: (540) 231-2266/8865
Office: 106A Cheatham
Karpanty_Sarah
Sarah Karpanty
Professor
Email: karpanty@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4586
Office: 150 Cheatham
Kelly_Marcella
Marcella Kelly
Professor &  Associate Department Head for Graduate Affairs
Email: makelly2@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-1734
Office: 146 Cheatham
photo of Holly Kindsvater
Holly Kindsvater
Assistant Professor Email: hkindsvater
Phone: (540) 231-1169
Office:  114 Cheatham
Donald Linzey, Instructional Faculty
Donald Linzey 
Instructional Faculty 
Email: dlinzey@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-2290
Office: 154 Cheatham Hall
Professor Dean Stauffer
Dean Stauffer 
Professor & Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Affairs
Email: dstauffe@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7349
Office: 152 Cheatham
Research Associate, Ronald Meyers
Ronald Meyer
Associate Professor of Practice
Email: rbmeyers@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 570-9535
Office: 106 Cheatham 
orth
Donald Orth
Thomas Jones Professor
Email: dorth@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-5919
Office: 106D Cheatham
Headshot of Associate Professor Jim Parkhurst
Jim Parkhurst
Associate Professor
Email: jparkhur@vt.edu 
Phone: (540) 231-9283
Office: 350 Latham

Research Scientists


Postdoctoral Associate, George Brooks
George Brooks
Postdoctoral Associate
Email: boa10gb@vt.edu 

 

Image of Joseph Buckwalter, FWC Research Associate
Joseph Buckwalter
Research Associate
Email: joebuck@vt.edu
Lab: 339 Latham Hall
Postdoc, Nick Caruso
Nicholas Caruso
Research Scientist
Email: nmcaruso@vt.edu
Research Scientist, Serena Ciparis
Serena Ciparis
Research Scientist
Email: sciparis@vt.edu
Office:  154 Cheatham Hall
Postdoc, Corrine Diggins
Corrine Diggins
Research Scientist
Email: cordie1@vt.edu

 

Research Scientist, Bill Henley
Bill Henley 
Research Scientist 
Email: whenley@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7241
Office: Mollusk Center
Research Associate, Kelsi Hunt
Kelsi Hunt
Research Associate
Email: hunt0382@vt.edu
Office: 134 Cheatham Hall
Research Scientist, Kelly jones
Kelly Jones
Research Associate
Email: kcjones7@vt.edu
Office: Off Campus, FL

 

Research Associate, Shannon Ritter
Shannon Ritter
Research Associate
Email:  sjritter@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-4433
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
image of Sarah Sweeten
Sarah Sweeten
Research Scientist
Email: sweeten@vt.edu
Office: Aquaculture Center
Emily Thorne
Postdoctoral Associate
Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Email: edthorne@vt.edu
Office:  106 Cheatham 
photo of Chelsea Weithman
Chelsea Weithman
Research Associate
Email: cweithm@vt.edu
Office:  Cheatham 134

Staff


Tara Craig, Staff
Tara Craig 
Web Specialist
Email: tvipperm@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-6944
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
photo of Field Tech Cody Ewers
Cody Ewers
Natural Resource Spec II  Email: ewers@vt.edu
Office: Off Campus, FL



Picture of Donald Fraser, Watercraft Operations Manager
Donald Fraser 
Watercraft Operations Manager
Email: drfraser@vt.edu
Office: Boatshed 
Photo of Research Tech Jordy Groffen
Jordy Groffen
Research Technician 
Email: jgroffen@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-7292
Office: 437 Latham Hall
Photo of FWC Admin Assistant Lynn Hayes
Lynn Hayes 
Administrative Assistant
Email: lyhayes@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-1975
Office: 101D Cheatham Hall
Photo of  Accounts Manager Beth Jones
Beth Jones
Accounts Manager 
Email: ejones06@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-3983
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall
Photo of Brandon Rincon, FWC Wildlife Worker
Brandon Rincon
Wildlife Worker
Email: brandon6@vt.edu
Office: Off Campus, FL
Picture of Emily Simpson
Emily S. Simpson
Administrative & Office Specialist
Virginia Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
Email: esimp@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-4934 
Office: 101 Cheatham Hall

 

no photo available, holder image
Jeffrey Wingate 
Trades Tech III & Manager of Center WoodsEmail: wjeff@vt.edu
Office: Center Woods